Connect with us


Tinubu sets up Climate Action Committee, appoints spokesman as special envoy



President Bola Tinubu has taken a significant step towards addressing climate change and promoting green economic solutions by establishing a Presidential Committee on Climate Action and Green Economic Solutions.

The committee, chaired by President Tinubu himself, aims to coordinate and oversee all policies and programs related to climate action and green economic development.

Vice Chairman of the committee will be the Minister of Environment, Mister Balarabe Lawal, while Ajuri Ngelale, the Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, has been appointed as the Special Presidential Envoy on Climate Action and will also serve as the committee’s secretary.

In a statement issued by the Director of Information & Public Relations in the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mister Segun Imohiosen, it was emphasized that the committee’s primary goal is to remove coordination constraints and foster a whole-of-government approach to climate action programs.

The committee’s mandate includes providing an efficient governance architecture and ensuring that all relevant institutions in the sector are aligned with President Tinubu’s vision, collectively implementing the Renewed Hope Agenda on climate action.

Despite his new role, Mister Ngelale will retain his office as the spokesman to the President, indicating a dual commitment to climate action and effective communication with the public.

Other members of the committee are:

(1) Lazarus Angbazo (CEO, InfraCorp) – Member

(2) Salisu Dahiru (CEO, NCCC) – Member

(3) Michael Ohiani (CEO, ICRC) – Member

(4) Aisha Rimi (CEO, NIPC) – Member

(5) Aminu Umar-Sadiq (CEO, NSIA) – Member

(6) Yusuf Maina-Bukar (CEO, NAGGW) – Member

(7) Abdullahi Mustapha (CEO, ECN) – Member

(8) Abba Abubakar Aliyu (CEO, REA) – Member

(9) Uzoma Nwagba (CEO, CrediCorp) – Member

(10) Khalil Halilu (CEO, NASENI) – Member

(11) Fatima Shinkafi (CEO, SMDF) – Member

(12) Bala Bello (Deputy Governor, CBN) – Member

(13) Lolade Abiola (UN SE4ALL) – Member

(14) Teni Majekodunmi (NCCC Adviser) – Member

(15) Representative, Federal Ministry of FCT – Member

(16) Representative, Federal Ministry of Finance – Member

(17) Representative, Federal Ministry of Power – Member

(18) Representative, Federal Ministry of Industry, Trade & Investment – Member

(19) Representative, Federal Ministry of Water Resources – Member

(20) Representative, Federal Ministry of Agriculture & Food Security – Member

(21) Representative, Federal Inland Revenue Service – Member

(22) Representative, Nigeria Customs Service – Member

Evergreen City

Also, the President approved the appointment of The Infrastructure Corporation of Nigeria (InfraCorp) as the Lead Arranger and Developer of Evergreen City, Nigeria’s green industrial zone, with the following terms of reference:

(1) Selection of partners/consultants to undertake critical development activities, including project design, environmental impact assessments, feasibility studies, financial modelling, and market engagement.

(2) Raising private funding for the development of the city and constituent projects.

(3) Coordinating with partners, development institutions, and other providers of capital and technical assistance.

(4) Reporting to the Supervisory Presidential Steering Committee on Project Evergreen