Connect with us


Tinubu sets up Presidential Economic Council, names Shettima, Dangote, Elumelu others as members 




President Bola Tinubu has approved forming the Presidential Economic Coordination Council (PECC), appointing the Vice President, Kashim Shettima, 18 ministers, and prominent figures from the private sector as members. 

This was contained in a statement by the spokesperson for the president, Ajuri Ngelale, on Wednesday in Abuja.  

According to the statement, the PECC was established to strengthen the country’s economic governance structures, ensuring strong and coordinated economic planning and execution. 

Ngelale noted that the Council comprises distinguished leaders and key government officials.  

President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria – Chairman of the PECC 

Vice-President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria – Vice-Chairman of the PECC / NEC Chairman 

President of the Nigerian Senate 

Chairman, Nigeria Governors’ Forum 

Coordinating Minister for the Economy and Minister of Finance 

Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria 

Minister of Agriculture and Food Security 

Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development  

Minister of Budget and Economic Planning 

Minister of Communications, Innovation and Digital Economy 

Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment 

Minister of Labour and Employment 

Minister of Marine and Blue Economy 

Minister of Power 

Minister of State, Petroleum Resources 

Minister of State, Gas 

Minister of Transportation 

Minister of Works 

The PECC will also comprise key members of the organized private sector, with the following members joining for a period not exceeding one (1) year, subject to the President’s directive: 

Alhaji Aliko Dangote 

Mr. Tony Elumelu